Member's profile

Albums (1)
Default (1)
Posted on 09/17/2016

General Details
I am:
Seeking a:
United States
Zip code:
In my own words:
I like to think, ponder and come up with theories of how the universe works, and write them up. I have a broad academic background and find few things as psychologically nourishing as thoughtful conversation and developing and growing ideas--in others and myself. I am at peace with my self and the world, at least mostly...I greet people openly and authentically.

I was born in Mexico, raised in Germany, schooled in Britain (Philosophy, Physics), and came to the US for various graduate degrees (Physics, Psychology). That means I have a weird German-British accent...sometimes I identify myself as pre-apartheid South African, which makes no sense whatsoever.

I travel widely, fiercely, and often, and would love to share that part of my life with a partner in its great potential for shared growth and inspiration. I've been so fortunate to have been raised quite internationally...with all the traveling, it's 60 something countries now, I've stopped counting.

I execute and teach ultralight unsupported long distance hikes, with long arctic and Siberian traverses under my belt, and plenty of expeditions in the Andes and Himalayas...It has taught me how to navigate in open terrain, how to find shelter and make fires, and, more generally, taught me to stay calm in stressful situations. A wide variety of animals large and small have tried to eat my tent over the years (mostly unsuccessfully). (I don't expect you to be into might happen though, few things can touch a human heart like a big mountain. I'll do all the logistics!)

I've also co-founded a start-up to develop some gadgets to track people's emotions, which has been an interesting exercise in applied capitalism.

In the end, i know that all the overachievement and so forth doesn't matter, compared to the kindness, love and wisdom we carry in our hearts. Suffice it to say, I know how to instigate and survive some serious adventures, and would love to bring that to a connection of the heart.

Professionally, I research what makes people live content and fulfilled lives, and how one can measure well-being unobtrusively for entire populations, and contribute to it, on a policy level...we are helping shape some of what's happening at the UN with their sustainable development goals. I think it's pretty cool and important work. I have worked hard many years to acquire at least a working knowledge in a number of academic fields, and I'm now at the point where I can weave all the strands together in my projects, which is reasonably rewarding, and only marginally megalomanic.

I am psycho-emotionally mature (on a good day), probably generally described (or mocked) by my friends and students as mischievous, big-hearted/compassionate, funny, honest and reasonably clever.... I'd prefer not to have that awkward conversation with my friends though.

I am looking for a friend/partner/companion to grow with, to learn new things with (say, Tai Chi?...but I'm flexible), to delight in and with around the world, who is a little mischievous, values the small things, can laugh about me and herself, big-hearted and kind, and who I can serve in respectful connection. Somebody who is here to make the world a better place, in her own way, and who I can help on that quest.

thanks for reading my profile! Good luck on your journey, and happy trails.
Looking for:
I was born in Mexico, and will be visiting the weekend of the 24th... I would love to meet somebody to have a fun time with. For now, casual, and then maybe something ongoing.

Thanks for reading my profile!
Living Situation:
Social Setting:
Social Butterfly, The life of the party
TV Watching:
Documentaries, News Junkie
Spanish, German, English
Home and Family
Professional Life
  • Score: 0.00 Votes: 0
  • Views: 156
  • Block member


Add comment

Nobody left any comments yet.